Every Fashion Journalist Dream, Meeting The One & Only Cathy Horyn

100_0307.jpg

Cathy Horyn and I at The Academy of Art Symposium 5/4/2011


Dearest Academy of Art,

O, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways.  You’ve presented me with opportunities that I once could only conceive within my imagination but they’re being now manifested into a reality. I met Cathy Horyn today. Yes, the Cathy Horyn. New York Times, Fashion Critic Cathy Horyn, Washington Post, Vanity Fair, Harper’s Bazaar yesss my darling the bold, fearless, courageous, goes against the grain Cathy Horyn in the flesh.

I’m incredibly humbled and inspired to be reporting this to you.  Do you know what this means to me as an aspiring fashion journalist?  To not only hear her speak and offer her profound insight and knowledge then accompany it by her life experiences. As if I wasn’t already floating on cloud 9, because I had clearly died and went onto fashion heaven with Yves Saint Laurent greeting me at the gates.  After the symposium not only did she stay and allow me to take a picture with her, she talked to me. We actually held a conversation. We were breathing the same air at the same time. She even took my business card and said she would check out my blog.  She was so down to earth, sweet and informative. I took a lot out of that five minute conversation. If I don’t take anything else from my educational journey here at the Academy, I most graciously appreciate this opportunity of a life time. I sincerely thank you from the bottom of Christian Louboutin’s. I don’t know if or when I’d ever have the chance again to meet Mrs.Horyn.

From now on when I have a case of writer’s block, I won’t be discouraged, I will merely glance up at my now laminated, framed, picture of Cathy and I, the words will speak to my heart and creativity will flow from my brain and I will become one with the pen.

Sincerely,

An Aspiring Fashionista Journalist

P.S. Be sure to sink your heels in her piece she wrote on Sarah Burton, for her contributions to Alexander McQueen’s brand and the royal wedding in the New York Times. And if that doesn’t tickle your fancy seeing that you may need more of Miss Cathy, be sure to indulge in her blog On The Runway.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Fashion

Author:The Urban Class Boutique

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The KickAss Sketches From The Academy Of Art’s BFA Spring Fashion Show 2011 « The Urban Class Boutique - May 11, 2011

    […] for members of the fashion elites such as   Yigal Azrouël, Cathy Horyn (who I met last week : READ HERE), Nathalie Rykiel and surprise guest Suzy […]

  2. Sarah Burton, Phillip Treacy, Suzy Menkes, Princess Reema & Cathy Horyn Visit The Academy of Art University | The Urban Class Boutique - May 9, 2012

    […] past.  They too have been guests of honor at The Academy of Art University. Read about them here (Every Journalist Dream Meeting Cathy Horn and Jean Paul Gaultier visits Academy of […]

Leave a Reply

