Trends That Must Die in 2012

Disclaimer: This isn’t a reflection of The Urban Class Boutique. Merely a list of all the things I dislike, personally. I won’t think differently of you if you wear anything listed below. Despite, what you may read. I’m simply being honest and poking a little fun. The inside is what counts, always remember that. Read 1 Peter 3:3-4 for a better understanding 😉

Now that we’ve established that…as you may know I hate any and everything that’s excessive. I tend to break out in hives and or catch a cold sweat when I see too much of the same thing. Especially if it’s within the beauty and fashion industries. I don’t know why it’s so hard for people to break out of their shell and do their own thing. If there’s a trend you want to try out…set it! Don’t sit around waiting,hoping, praying someone else takes your thing and makes it the thing. I was inspired to create my boutique because I couldn’t find anything I wanted that wasn’t already out. I don’t shop at malls EVER. I only shop online, thrift stores and in boutiques. Even then I tend to custom whatever I bought, although that’s not something I do intentionally. Now, don’t mistake me for attention starved. Nor, am I bothered if any person has any of the same things I do. For we will wear it differently. To be honest I’m mostly noticed for my friendliness, confidence and my smile, rarely my style. Which is the best asset you can carry with you at any given time: a banging personality.

To understand my overall stance on the matter. Here’s my ORIGINAL COPYRIGHTED quoute.

Forget you are what you eat. No you are what you wear. And how dare, you not wear you with the independence and flare God stitched you out of?  We are all cut from the same cloth but sewed with different thread. Our patterns may be different but our fabrics are the same. Be you. Whatever or whoever that may be. And let your clothes be a mere reflection of your work of art off your canvas.”-Tamisha Monet

Which brings me to my next point. The trends I will list below make me cringe whenever I see them featured in any fashion magazine, blog or website. Someone place them into a vault  and we’ll bury them, oh no wait they may get dug up. Okay, how about attach the vault to a rocket blasting off into outer-space. That way they will disappear into the black hole for infinity and beyond. Yes, it sounds like a plan.

1. Sequin, Glitter or Anything Shiny

Although, I enjoy seeing the ‘Bejeweled’ look on various people worn in different ways. It’s just all over the place. I challenge you to go out and count how many jewel encrusted items you find? That’s if you’re aren’t permanently blinded by the light.

2.  Basketball Wive Inspired Earrings

Please, please I beg of you leave the spikes and mush balls in 2011. I never understood why they were so popular to begin with. I seen them at my local beauty supply store way before they were on the show. No, but do you know what really grinds my gears? Did you know the earrings made by the original designer go for around $150 and up? I promise you, you will look just as cheap as that jewelrymart86.com stamp on the photograph, my beauty! 

3. Cheetah And/Or Leopard Print

Note I did not say animal print just cheetah or leopard. Everywhere I turn it’s cheetah this and leopard that. I’ve even seen some people wear the clutch, dress, shoe, jewelry all at once. I don’t know rather to call PETA or run for dear life.  

4. Blazers

Yes, you read that right blazers. I don’t own not a one at this time. Why is that might you ask? Girls who never once had an ounce of style in their lives are deemed fashionable simply because they dressed a blazer up or down? No, I don’t follow. They couldn’t name not one fashion house, not one of the multiple fashion capitols, name the original dress Diane von Furtsenberg created but yet they’re stylish or they really know fashion? No they don’t. And stop making them think they do. 

5.  Dressing Tacky And Mistaken It For Being Stylish

I left an example out on purpose. I keeps my rudeness to a minimum, lol.

Oh, yes hunni I saved the best laugh for last. So, simply because you have on mixed prints, Jeffrey Campbells, leggings, a blazer, sequin, a turban, a snap back and short shorts all at one time, you fancy huh? Not on my watch or within my eye sight you’re not. First and foremost dress for your body type and the occasion, whatever it may be. And remember a first impression is a lasting one.

Welp, til next time…


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Fashion

Author:Tamisha Monet

Fashion Editor (iStyleFashionBeauty.com) Tamisha Monet calls Oakland home as a Bay Area native but resides in Houston. She's a staff writer for The Rouge Collection magazine, in their Beauty and Style department. She is the art contributor for the West Coast division of F.A.M.E. The Experience magazine. In the blogosphere, she’s worked with Vogue, Lexus, True Religion and more. She works as a Business Life Coach for various fashion and beauty start-ups through her company iStyle Fashion and Beauty Society.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

