Fact or Fiction| Sisters With Natural Hair Hide Behind A Mask Of Make Up?

Fashion and beauty are Siamese twins. You can’t have one without the other. There’s been a debate among women of color for years speculating that women with natural hair or shaved heads wear a lot of make up to mask their ‘insecurity’ for the stigma attached to their natural hair. Do you find this to be true?

Personally, I think women wear their hair in various styles for different occasions, looks, seasons,  health conditions, etc. I see just as many women with relaxed hair wearing make up excessively as  I do as natural. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with make up as long as it’s done in moderation. Too much of anything can be bad for you. You could clog your pores. You shouldn’t be dependent on make up to feel good about yourself; the same way you shouldn’t be attached to weaves or anything meant to merely enhance your natural beauty not become the source of it.

So far, I’ve went natural four times. For now, I have relaxed (permed) hair…again! My hair started to break off and shed without any natural hair stylists in the Bay Area to care for it. This is before the natural hair gurus had their own blogs, youtube channels, Curl Box and shared advice via social media. I had no choice but to go back to perms or be bald. Prior to the hair breakage I went through the process of ‘transitioning’(the phase when you transition your permed hair from processed to natural) by wearing protective styling (weaves, braids, wigs to protect your natural hair) for a year.My preference is wearing my hair in it’s natural state but because my head sweats excessively, to be honest. I actually have a health condition which causes my head to sweat hyperhidrosis.  For example, If  I go to the hair salon, I kid you not by the time I’ve walked from the chair to my car, the roots of my hair start to sweat. Which then causes me to make a hair appointment every three days versus every two weeks, which costs on average $100 or more, per visit.  It’s quite expensive! I’m actually setting up a doctor’s visit with a dietitian to see what foods I should incorporate into my diet to prevent the excessive sweating.  So, I wear braids and weaves as protective styling most of the time.

I don’t wear make up because I don’t know how to apply it and color coordinate a palette the same way I do my clothes. I wish I did, for the way I dress make up would give me that extra uumph to complete my look. Judging a girl by her beauty choices is like judging a book by it’s cover. Besides, you never know health conditions a person may be struggling with underneath it all. I think it’s a silly argument,  just as  silly as the argument some would make saying I’m confirming to the white standard of beauty by  relaxing my hair not knowing my health conditions. Yet, the dialogue must start some where to put these stereotypes to rest. Share your tips, experiences, opinions in our comment section below.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Beauty, Health

Author:Tamisha Monet

Fashion Editor (iStyleFashionBeauty.com) Tamisha Monet calls Oakland home as a Bay Area native but resides in Houston. She's a staff writer for The Rouge Collection magazine, in their Beauty and Style department. She is the art contributor for the West Coast division of F.A.M.E. The Experience magazine. In the blogosphere, she’s worked with Vogue, Lexus, True Religion and more. She works as a Business Life Coach for various fashion and beauty start-ups through her company iStyle Fashion and Beauty Society.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Fact or Fiction| Sisters With Natural Hair Hide Behind A Mask Of Make Up?”

  1. June 7, 2012 at 8:46 AM #

    I think its 50/50 it depends on the person how confident she feels. If she ever wore make-up to begin with. For most thay I have seen that has gone natural like a suttle natural look as far as shades of color for eye shadow and lipstick. I don’t wear much make-up, I only wear eyeshadow, mascara and lipgloss but when I do I wear lots of gold, brown and even some pink, purple, or even turquoise just depends on how I am feeling that day and what I’m wearing. But as I stated before I think it just depends on the person how their confidence was before they went natural.

  2. June 7, 2012 at 12:54 PM #

    Around my way people of all races in general don’t cake on make up from what I’ve seen, in my university, being out and about, natural girls included so I don’t know where this notion comes from. Maybe it’s an internet trend that hasn’t translated in actual life yet. I never wore make up and I’ve been natural all my life for the most part, with like a couple moments of having a relaxer when I was little. Currently I’m loc’d up so I don’t know what this is.

  3. June 8, 2012 at 5:27 AM #

    My sentiments exactly. Natural, relaxed beauty is only skin deep. And beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder. I believe there is something truly beautiful about simply being comfortable in your own skin. I look at make up as a way to enhance your beauty, not the foundation(no pun intended) of your beauty.

    This is something I have to tell myself everyday….

    I may work in the fashion industry but allowing my beauty to resonate from the inside out will never go out of style:

    “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”-(1 Peter 3:3, 4 NIV)

    Thank you for your comments =)

Leave a Reply

